Carolina - The House of Burgesses

In 1668, Albemarle County was divided into four precincts: Chowan Precinct, Currituck Precinct, Pasquotank Precinct, and Perquimans Precinct. Each of these precincts was soon authorized to elect five representatives to serve in the House of Burgesses. Some sources assert that Albemarle County was disestablished in 1689, but this Author has found plenty of evidence showing that it continued well into the early 1700s.
<< 1668  

1696 >>


© 2015 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved