Bertie County, North Carolina


Year Established

County Seat

Population (2010)




First Settled

First Settled By

Significance of County Name



James & Henry Bertie - Lords Proprietors

Other Significant Towns:









Click Here - To see how Bertie County evolved each decade - includes all the known towns and villages.

A History of Bertie County


Bertie Family Coat-of-Arms

Bertie Courthouse - In 1741, when Northampton was carved out of Bertie County and Hertford County was formed in 1754 the courthouse of 1724 was outside the boundaries of Bertie County.

In 1743, a lease was signed for one acre of land for the old courthouse. In 1744, preparations began to move the courthouse May 10, James Castelow (originally Barneycastle) bought one acre of land on the north side of the Cashie River and south side of Will's Quarter swamp where the courthouse, prison, and stocks were to be built. For twenty-four years this was the second courthouse of Bertie County.

In 1768, the third courthouse was built and used for 111 years. On December 13, 1886, the county commissioners asked for a bill to be drawn
up for the General Assembly and bonds were issued. The members of the board were chairman W.A. Capehart, Peter Rascoe, A.J. Dunning, J.B. Stokes appointed a building committee consisting of L. Thrower, J.E. Mitchell, J.B. Martin, James Bond, A.S. Rascoe.

Theo Ralph contracted to build courthouse. Aaron Rascoe bought five $100 bonds, J.P. Johnson bought the remainder, the old coach shop was used while the court house was being built.

Bertie County is one of the largest counties in North Carolina, spanning 741 square miles. It was originally part of Albemarle County, established in 1660. In 1670, Chowan County, including Bertie Precinct, was cut from Albemarle County. Bertie Precinct was finally given status of county in 1722 when it separated from Chowan County. Initially, Bertie County was comprised of present Bertie County, Tyrrell County, Edgecombe County, Northampton County and Hertford County. By 1780, Bertie County had been divided to resemble its current shape.

Bertie County was named for James and Henry Bertie, who had purchased land from the original Lord Proprietors. Bertie County’s county seat is Windsor, which was established in 1766 and was made county seat in 1774. The County includes the eight incorporated townships of Askewville, Aulander, Colerain, Kelford, Lewiston-Woodville, Powellsville, Roxobel and Windsor.

Agriculture plays a key role in the lives of Bertie County citizens. The primary crops for Bertie County are cotton, tobacco, peanuts, corn and soybeans. Bertie County is comprised of fertile uplands and lowlands, with some large swamps called pocosins, making Bertie County ideal for agriculture. In addition, the timber industry is key to the area. Livestock and the growing poultry industry, which focuses on broiler production, are major contributors to Bertie County’s agriculture base.

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved