Fayette County, North Carolina


A History of Fayette County
Fayette County was formed in 1784 from Cumberland County. It was named in honor of LaFayette, who aided George Washington in defeating Lord Cornwallis at Yorktown. The act establishing the county divided Cumberland into Fayette and Moore counties with Fayette having the courthouse of Cumberland, which was located in Fayetteville. In October 1784, the Act creating Fayette County was repealed and Cumberland County was re-established.

© 2007 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved