The American Revolution in North Carolina

Bute County Regiment of Militia

Date Established:


Original Officers:

September 9, 1775

Col. William Person
Col. Philemon Hawkins, Jr.
Col. Thomas Eaton

Col. William Person
Lt. Col. Philemon Hawkins, Jr.
1st Maj. William Alston
2nd Maj. Thomas Sherrod

Date Disbanded: 

January 30, 1779

Known Lt. Colonels:

Known Majors: 

Known Adjutants:

Lt. Col. Philemon Hawkins, Jr.

1st Maj. William Alston
2nd Maj. Thomas Sherrod
Maj. William Brickell
Maj. Green Hill
Maj. Isaac Horn

Joseph Taylor

Known Captains:

Charles Allen, Sr.

William Allen

Thomas Alston

James Carver

John Cokely

John Colclough

James Denton

James Garrison

Robert Goodloe

William Green

Britton Harris

Jordan Harris

Philemon Hawkins, Jr.

Alsey High

William Hill

John Hopkins

Henry Hunt

? Jeter

? Lynch

Harrison Macon

John McCann

Benjamin Seawell

Robert Temple

Nathan Turner

Known Privates / Fifers / Drummers, etc. - Captain Unknown:


Arthur Green


Brief History of the Regiment:

On September 9, 1775, the Provincial Congress authorized thirty-five (35) existing county Militias to be organized. All officers were appointed and commissioned by the Provincial Congress.

In February of 1776, two companies from Bute County marched towards the battle of Moore's Creek Bridge, but they arrived too late to participate in the battle.

On January 30, 1779, Franklin County and Warren County were created out of Bute County, and therefore, the Bute County Regiment of Militia ceased to exist, although many men were already on their way to South Carolina in the Purrysburg Expedition as their regiments changed names.


Known Battles / Skirmishes:



© 2012 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved