A History of Edgecombe Court House, North Carolina

In 1758, Halifax County was carved out of Edgecombe County and the existing county seat, Enfield, was now no longer within the confines of its original county. The Edgecombe County seat was moved from Enfield (now in Halifax County) to Redmond's Old Field on Tyancoa Creek per legislative mandate. In 1758, Edgecombe Court House was created at the location specified by the colonial General Assembly. The village that soon emerged faded as quickly as it was created, lasting a short six years.

By 1763, the justices of Edgecombe County became displeased with that location, finding it "very inconvenient for those whose business is to attend court, general musters, and other public duties..." Additionally, "from experience it is found that a gaol cannot be built there so as to confine the criminals and others put therein" because they were released by assistance from without or the gaol was "burnt by Idle, disorderly people who are frequently in the part of the county where the court is held..."

The justices petitioned the General Assembly to move the court house and prison to Tarboro, incorporated in 1760, "where those who are obliged to attend public duties may be accommodated and criminals who should be committed secured so as to meet with the punishment inflicted on such by law." The General Assembly agreed and passed an Act in 1764 to make Tarboro the new county seat for Edgecombe County. Tarboro was roughly 4-6 miles north of where Edgecombe C.H. had earlier been situated.



© 2007 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved