Carolina Under the Lords Proprietors' Rule

10th Commons House of Assembly - 1707 to 1708
The Tenth Commons House of Assembly convened for at least four (4) known sessions. The first session met from June 5th to July 12th in 1707. The second session met from July 14th to July 19th in 1707. The third session met from October 22nd to November 28th in 1707. The fourth session met from February 6th to February 14th in 1708.

Election District


Berkeley County
Craven County

(20 Delegates)

Richard Beresford

William Bull

Thomas Cary*

George Chicken

David Davis

Jonathan Drake

William Elliott

Robert Fenwick

William Gibbon

Hugh Grange

George Logan

Edward Loughton

Evan McPherson

James Moore

John Abraham Motte

George Smith

Thomas Smith (Landgrave)*

William Smith

John Stroud

Henry Wigington

Colleton County

(10 delegates)

John Ash

James Cochran

Thomas Jones

Joseph Morton (Landgrave)

John Raven

Thomas Nairne

John Stanyarne

John Wilkins

Christopher Wilkinson

John Woodward
* Thomas Cary was elected as the Speaker of the House. Thomas Smith was elected to replace Thomas Cary on October 22, 1707, since Cary was out of the province. Thomas Hepworth was elected as Clerk of the House. Robert Ellis was elected as Messenger of the House.
<< 1707  

 1708 >>


© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved