Carolina Under the Lords Proprietors' Rule

7th Commons House of Assembly - 1703 to 1705
The Seventh Commons House of Assembly convened for at least six (6) known sessions. The first session met from April 15th to May 8th in 1703. The second session met from September 1st to September 17th in 1703. The third session met from December 7th to December 23rd in 1703. The fourth session met from April 26th to May 6th in 1704. The fifth session met from October 4th to November 6th in 1704. The sixth session met from January 31st to February 17th in 1705.

Election District


Berkeley County
Craven County

(20 Delegates)

Richard Beresford

John Buckly

George Cantey

William Cantey

Charles Colleton

David Davis

George Dearsley

John Godfrey

John Guppell

Job Howes*

Ralph Izard

George Logan

Alexander Parris

James Risbee

Benjamin Schenckingh

James Serurier (alias Smith)

Daniel Sindrey

William Smith (Major)

William Smith (Merchant)

John Stroud

Colleton County

(10 delegates)

John Ash

John Beamor

James Cochran

Lawrence Dennis

William Edwards

John Hamilton

Thomas Jones

John Raven

James Stanyarne

John Stanyarne
* Job Howes was elected as the Speaker of the House. Henry Boult served as Clerk of the House until December 23, 1703. Thomas Rose served as Clerk of the House from April 26, 1704 onward. Thomas Cuttler was elected as Messenger of the House but was dismissed on September 3, 1703 for non-attendance. Peter Mailhet was then elected as Messenger of the House on September 3, 1703.
<< 1703  

 1706 >>


© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved