Landgrave - Joseph Morton, Sr.

Landgrave Joseph Morton became Governor of South Carolina in 1682, and one of the first measures required of him was the division of the inhabited portion of the Province into three Counties. (Order of the Lords Proprietors, 10 May 1682). BERKELEY, embracing Charles Town (now know as Charleston), extended from Sewee on the North to Stono Creek on the South; beyond this to the northward was CRAVEN County, and to the southward COLLETON County. Shortly afterwards CARTERET County was added to the number. This County included the country around Port Royal; later, about 1708, it was called GRANVILLE County.


© 2007 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved