Carolina Forts - 1700 to 1729

Due to increasing tensions with the Indians, the Colony built 21 forts between 1700 and 1729 under the Lords Proprietors rule - within the current boundaries of the two states. South Carolina also built Fort King George in 1721 at what is today known as Darien, Georgia. Later forts will be discussed in each State's sections - because of "The Split" there is no more "Carolana."


© 2008 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved