North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate Flea Hill Academy, in the County of Cumberland.

1831-1832 - Chapter CXX

Acts Passed by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina 1831-1832 - Pages 102-103.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That Hector McKay, Samuel Howie, Archibald Holmes, Archibald McLaurin, Enoch Jarrett, Lewis Jones and Duncan McLaurin, of the county of Cumberland, be, and they are hereby constituted a body politic and corporate by the name and style of "The Trustees of Flea Hill Academy," and by that name may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded; shall have perpetual succession and a common seal, and in general shall have, exercise and enjoy all such rights, power and privileges as are usually exercised and enjoyed by the trustees of any incorporated academy within this State.

II. Be it further enacted, That any three of the said trustees may constitute a quorum for the transaction of business; and that on the death, refusal to act, or removal out of the State, of any of the trustees, the remaining trustees shall have power to fill the vacancy thereby occasioned.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly,
this 14th day of January, A.D.1832.

Montfort Stokes, Governor
Charles Fisher, Speaker of the House of Commons
David F. Caldwell, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved