The American Revolution in North Carolina

Carteret County Regiment of Militia

Date Established:


Original Officers:

September 9, 1775

Col. William Thompson
Col. Thomas Chadwick
Col. Malachi Bell
Col. Enoch Ward

Col. William Thompson
Lt. Col. Solomon Shepherd
1st Maj. Thomas Chadwick
2nd Maj. Malachi Bell

Known Lt. Colonels:

Known Majors: 

Known Adjutants:

Lt. Col. Solomon Shepherd
Lt. Col. John Easton
Lt. Col. James Cole Mountflorence

1st Maj. Thomas Chadwick
2nd Maj. Malachi Bell
Maj. Isaiah Chadwick
Maj. William Dennis
Maj. Eli West
Maj. Bryce Williams

None Known

Miscellaneous Players:

John Cooper - Commissary

John Easton - Paymaster

Solomon Sheppard - Commissary

Known Captains:

Abner Bell

Thomas Caswell

William Dennis, Jr.

John Easton

Daniel Foot

John Fulford

Adam Gaskill

Didderick Gibble

Weston Hadnot

David Hall

Zachariah Harker

Libious Hunter

John Lovitt

Thomas Nixon

Robert Read

James Sims

John Tillman

Enoch Ward


Eli West


Known Lieutenants - Captain Unknown:

Joseph Bell, Jr.

Nathan Bell

Gayar Chadwick

John Collins

James Dickson

Daniel Foot

Edward Fuller


George Howard

Known Ensigns - Captain Unknown:

Newell Bell 

Nathan Fuller

Charles Guthrie

Samuel Guthrie

John Mundine

George Rumbly

Solomon Shepherd, Jr.

George Styron

Andrew West

Brief History of the Regiment:

On September 9, 1775, the Provincial Congress authorized thirty-five (35) existing county Militias to be organized. All officers were appointed and commissioned by the Provincial Congress.

The Carteret County Regiment was active until the end of the war. Units of this regiment were known to have participated in the following known battles/skirmishes:


Known Battles / Skirmishes:


Stono Ferry (SC)



© 2012 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved