The American Revolution in North Carolina

Nash County Regiment of Militia

Date Established:


Original Officers:

December 17, 1777

Col. James Clinch
Col. Thomas Hunter

Col. James Clinch
Lt. Col. Thomas Hunter

Known Lt. Colonels:

Known Majors: 

Known Adjutants:

Lt. Col. Thomas Hunter
Lt. Col. John Bond
Lt. Col. Thomas Clinch
Lt. Col. William Thomas Linton

Maj. ? Curlee
Maj. Edward Gandy/Gaudy
Maj. Hardy Griffin
Maj. John Sharp

Benjamin Denson

Miscellaneous Players:


Arthur Arrington - Commissary


Known Captains:

? Arent

William Avent

James Battle

? Bluer

John Bond

William Bridges

? Creasey

John Dew

Brittain Drake

Howell Ellen

Howard Flewellen

Edward Gandy / Gaudy

Hardy Griffin

William Hall

William Harris

? Hill

Isaac Horn

Benjamin Kitchen

William Lewis

Wilson Taylor

William Williams

Known Privates / Fifers / Drummers, etc. - Captain Unknown:

Joseph Broughton 

Isham Finch

Cooper Jones

Brief History of the Regiment:

On December 17, 1777, the NC General Assembly created Nash County and its regiment of Militia. All officers were appointed and commissioned by the Governor.

The Nash County Regiment was active until the end of the war. Units of this regiment were known to have participated in the following known battles/skirmishes:


Known Battles / Skirmishes:


Briar Creek (GA)


Siege of Charleston 1780 (SC)


Camden (SC)


Guilford Court House


Hobkirk's Hill (SC)


Fort Motte (SC)


Siege of Ninety-Six 1781 (SC)


Rockfish Creek

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved