The American Revolution in North Carolina

8th North Carolina Regiment

Date Established:


Original Officers:

November 26, 1776

Col. James Armstrong

Col. James Armstrong
Lt. Col. James Ingram
Maj. Selby Harney

Known Lt. Colonels:

Known Majors:

Lt. Col. James Ingram
Lt. Col. Samuel Lockhart
Lt. Col. Levi Dawson

Maj. Selby Harney

Maj. Pinketham Eaton

Known Regimental Adjutants:

John Burton


John Bush

Known Quarter Masters:

Francis Graves


Peter Rhein

Miscellaneous Players:

Jesse Blount - Paymaster 

Joseph Green - Commissary

Jonathan Loomis - Surgeon


John Taylor - Paymaster


Known Captains:

Benjamin Carter

William Dennis, Jr.

Frederick Hargett

Simon Jones

James May, Jr.

Thomas Nixon

Henry Pope

Michael Quinn

Robert Raiford

Joseph Rhodes

Francis Tartanson

John Walsh


Edward Ward


Known Lieutenants - Captain Unknown:

 Philip Jones

Abner Loomis

William Rush


John Taylor


Known Ensigns - Captain Unknown:

William Ferrell 


Stephen Owens

Known Sergeants - Captain Unknown:


   Michael Leony


Known Corporals - Captain Unknown:



Known Privates / Fifers / Drummers, etc. - Captain Unknown:

 Jonathan Cahoon


Benjamin Varey

Brief History of Regiment:

The 8th North Carolina Regiment was authorized on November 26, 1776 and assigned to the Southern Department. It was first placed in the 1st NC Brigade under Brigadier General James Moore. On February 5, 1777, it was placed in the 3rd NC Brigade under the newly-appointed Brigadier General Francis Nash. Upon the death of Brigadier General James Moore on April 15th, and the subsequent appointment of Brigadier General Robert Howe to assume leadership of the Southern Department in Charlestown, the NC Continental Line was entirely under a singular general, Brigadier General Francis Nash, who simply led was was known as the NC Brigade. It soon marched northward.

The 8th North Carolina Regiment was organized during the Spring and Summer of 1777 at Halifax, NC. It included eight companies from the New Bern and Wilmington Districts. On July 8, 1777, it was officially assigned to the NC Brigade, an element of the Northern Department - it arrived in early September of 1777. The 8th NC Regiment was soon engaged at the battles of Brandywine Creek and Germantown, both in Pennsylvania.

Upon the death of Brigadier General Francis Nash as a result of his severe wounds at the Battle of Germantown, the 8th NC Regiment, along with all other NC Continental regiments in the Northern Theater, was placed under the command of Major General Alexander McDougall of New York. On December 20, 1777, the NC Continental Line was placed under Brigadier General Lachlan McIntosh of Georgia, and they were encamped at Valley Forge in Pennsylvania for that brutal winter.

On May 15, 1778, the NC Continental Line was led by Col. Thomas Clark (of the 1st NC Regiment) and placed under Major General Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de Lafayette - simply known as Lafayette.

On May 29, 1778, Continental Congress ordered the reorganization of all NC regiments due to low numbers in their ranks. The 8th NC Regiment was disbanded effective June 1, 1778, never to be reconstituted.


Known Battles / Skirmishes:


Brandywine Creek (PA)


Germantown (PA)

© 2012 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved