The Royal Colony of North Carolina

27th House of Burgesses - 1775

The 27th House of Burgesses during the Royal Period met in New Bern in one session that met from April 4th to April 8th in 1775.

This is also considered to be the 4th House of Burgesses under Royal Governor Josiah Martin.

This was the last General Assembly under Royal Governor Josiah Martin and under British Rule.

As this General Assembly convened, the Patriots gathered their 2nd Provincial Congress at the same time, also in New Bern. They met from April 3rd to April 7th with virtually the same members.
On April 7, 1775, Governor Josiah Martin presented a new Resolve of the House of Burgesses, which had approved of the Continental Congress to be held in Philadelphia. The Governor and Executive Council agreed to dissolve the General Assembly and issued a proclamation, dated April 8, 1775.

Election District


Anson County

Unknown / Vacant

Unknown / Vacant

Beaufort County

Roger Ormond

Thomas Respess, Jr.

Bertie County

John Campbell

John Johnston

David Stanley

Bladen County

William Salter

James White

Brunswick County

Robert Howe

John Rowan

Bute County

Green Hill

William Person

Carteret County

Solomon Shepard

William Thompson

Chatham County

Unknown / Vacant

Unknown / Vacant

Chowan County

Thomas Benbury

Thomas Hunter

Samuel Johnston

Thomas Jones

Thomas Oldham

Craven County

James Coor

Lemuel Hatch

Cumberland County

Farquard Campbell

Thomas Rutherford

Currituck County

Samuel Jarvis

Nathan Joyner

Thomas McKnight

Solomon Perkins

Francis Williamson

Dobbs County

Richard Caswell

William McKinnie

Duplin County

Thomas Gray

Thomas Hicks

Edgecombe County

Elisha Battle

William Haywood

Granville County

Memucan Hunt

Thomas Person

Guilford County



Halifax County

Nicholas Long

Benjamin McCulloch

Hertford County

William Murfree

George Wynns

Hyde County

Unknown / Vacant

Unknown / Vacant

Johnston County

Needham Bryan

Benjamin Williams

Mecklenburg County

Unknown / Vacant

Unknown / Vacant

New Hanover County

John Ashe

William Hooper

Northampton County

Jeptha Atherton

Allen Jones

Onslow County

William Cray

Henry Rhodes

Orange County

Thomas Hart

Ralph McNair

Pasquotank County

Edward Everagin

Jonathan Herring

Joseph Jones

Isaac Gregory

Joseph Reading

Perquimans County

John Harvey*

Thomas Harvey

Andrew Knox

John Whedbee

Unknown / Vacant

Pitt County

Edward Salter

John Simpson

Rowan County

Unknown / Vacant

Unknown / Vacant

Surry County

Unknown / Vacant

Unknown / Vacant

Tryon County

William Alston

William Moore

Tyrrell County

Jeremiah Frazier

Benjamin Spruill

Joseph Spruill

Unknown / Vacant

Unknown / Vacant

Wake County

Unknown / Vacant

Unknown / Vacant

Town of Bath

William Brown

Town of Brunswick

Parker Quince

Town of Campbellton

Robert Rowan

Town of Edenton

Joseph Hewes

Town of Halifax

Unknown / Vacant

Town of Hillsborough

Francis Nash

Town of New Bern

Isaac Edwards (2)

Town of Salisbury

Unknown / Vacant

Town of Wilmington

Cornelius Harnett
* John Harvey was elected Speaker of the House. James Green, Jr. was appointed Clerk. James Glasgow was appointed Assistant Clerk. Benjamin Fordham was appointed Mace Bearer.
(1) The Sheriff of Guilford County failed to make a return of the Writ of Election. Seats remained vacant.
(2) Isaac Edwards died before taking his seat. His seat remained vacant.
<< 1774

2nd Provincial Congress >>

© 2015 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved