South Carolina During the Late 1800s - 1865 to 1900

Members of the 51st General Assembly - 1874 to 1876
This 51st General Assembly convened in two regular sessions: The first session was held from November 24th to December 22nd in 1874, then from January 12th to March 26th in 1875. The second session was held from November 23rd to December 24th in 1875, then from January 18th to April 14th in 1876.

Election District


House of Representatives

Abbeville County

Jeremiah Hollinshead (1)

Mitchell Goggins

Lemuel L. Guffin

William M. Holland

James A. Spencer

Hannibal A. Wideman

Aiken County

Charles D. Hayne

Ellery McTeall Brayton

Robert Brown Elliott*

Gloster H. Holland

Paul W. Jefferson

Anderson County

John Robert Cochran

James Lawrence Orr

Richard Wright Simpson

Henry R. Vandiver

Barnwell County

James Michael Smith

Simon P. Coker (2)

Austin S. Jackson

Charles P. Leslie

Edward M. Sumter

Beaufort County

Robert Smalls (3) /
Samuel Greene (4)

Samuel Jones Bampfield

Samuel Greene (4) / Benjamin Simmons (5)

Thomas Hamilton

Thomas Ezekiel Miller

Nathaniel B. Myers (6) / William J. Whipper (7)

J. Douglass Robertson (8)

Unknown / Vacant

Charleston County

Samuel Eden Gaillard,
William R. Jervay

Joseph Walker Barnwell

Peter Bright

H.Z/ Burckmeyer

James Cosgrove

Thomas A. Davis

S.B. Doilly

John M. Freeman, Jr.

John Gourdin Gaillard

A.H. Jones

Michael McLaughlin

Alexander Melchers

Richard Nesbitt

William G. Pinckney

A.C. Richmond

S.D. Russell

George Alfred Trenholm

John Vanderpool

S. Wright

Chester County

Dublin J. Walker

S. J. Crouch

J. Jordan

John McCullough (9) / Samuel Coleman (10)

Chesterfield County

William Augustus Evans

James Campbell Coit

David Tomley Redfearn

Clarendon County

Jared D. Warley

Augustus Collins

Syfax Milton

Colleton County

William Fabriel Myers

E.A. Brabham (11)

Thomas D. Richardson

Hercules Simmons

William M. Thomas

R. Allen Willis

Darlington County

Benjamin Franklin Whittemore

Richard H. Humbert

Samuel J. Keith

Alfred Rush (12)

Jackson A. Smith

Edgefield County

Lawrence Cain

John A. Barker

David Graham

Augustus Simkins

Paris Simkins

Archie Weldon

Fairfield County

Moses Martin

Joel Copes

John Gibson

Joseph Thompson

Georgetown County

William H. Jones, Jr.

Charles Samuel Green

R.M. Harriet

Bruce H. Williams

Greenville County

Thomas Quinton Donaldson

Joseph Thomas Austin

Stephen Stanley Crittenden

Thomas B. Ferguson

Samuel Tinsley

Horry County

Thomas C. Dunn (13) /
Benjamin Newton Ward (14)

Daniel Lewis

Francis Ichabod Sessions

Kershaw County

Frank Carter

Reuben D. Gaither

Stephen Gary

Ebenezer Frank George

Lancaster County

Frederick Albert Clinton

Allen Hudson

Daniel C. Wolfe

Laurens County

Young John Pope Owens

E.C. Coleman

Joseph Crews (15)

Alfred T.B. Hunter

James Young

Lexington County

John Christian Hope

Henry Adam Meetze

Gerhard Muller

Marion County

Christopher C. Smith

William A. Hayne

A.H. Howard

Richard Grandison Howard

William Dalrymple Johnson

Marlboro County

Henry J. Maxwell

Jacob C. Alman

Thomas Christopher Weatherly

Newberry County

Henry C. Corwin

Joseph D. Boston

Sampson S. Bridges

James A. Henderson


William Calhoun Keith

A.B. Grant

James William Livingston

Orangeburg County

Thaddeus C. Andrews

Samuel L. Duncan

Paul Edward Jones

Shadrach Morgan

William H. Reedish

Aaron Simmons

Pickens County

Robert Esli Bowen

David Franklin Bradley

Richland County

William Beverly Nash

Andrew W. Curtis

John Timmier Sloan, Jr.

William Simons

Ellison M. Weston

Spartanburg County

David Robinson Duncan

John Earle Bomar

Gabriel Cannon

Robert Marion Smith

Andrew Barry Woodruff

Sumter County

William E. Johnston

William J. Andrews

Thomas Brent Johnston

W. Warren Ramsay

John H. Westberry

Union County

Thomas Bothwell Jeter

Simeon P. Farrow

Benjamin Herndon Rice

William Henry Wallace

Williamsburg County

Stephen A. Swails**

Melvin J. Hirsch

James Farmer Peterson

William Scott

York County

John Hannibal White

T. K. Bates

William Carlisle Beaty

Nelson Davies

Henry S. Steele
* Robert Brown Elliott was elected as Speaker of the House. Albert O. Jones was elected as Clerk.
** Stephen A. Swails was elected as President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Josephus Woodruff was elected as Clerk.
(1) Jerermiah Hollinshead died on April 28, 1876.
(2) Simon P. Coker was murdered by a mob on September 19, 1876.
(3) Elected to the U.S. House of Representatives, resigned on March 26, 1875.
(4) Elected to replace Robert Smalls, qualified in the SC Senate on 11/23/1875.
(5) Elected to replace Samuel Greene, qualified on 11/23/1875.
(6) Resigned as of March 26, 1875. Appointed Treasurer of Beaufort County by Governor Daniel Chamberlain, and commissioned to the office on July 31, 1875.
(7) Elected to replace Nathaniel B. Myers, qualified on 11/23/1875. He was then elected as Judge of the First Judicial Circuit of SC on December 16, 1875, and resigned from the House on April 14, 1876.
(8) Expelled from the SC House of Representatives on February 25, 1876 for attempting to bribe certain publishing houses in New York concerning the supply of school textbooks, while a member of the Commission on School Textbooks.
(9) John McCullough died circa May 15, 1875.
(10) Elected to replace John McCullough, qualified on 11/23/1875.
(11) Election protested by L.A. Harper on the grounds that Brabham was ineligible because he was alread the Postmaster of Kinardville, which was a disqualifying office under Artle II, Secton 28, of the SC Constitution of 1868. The Committee on Priveleges and Elections found, however, that Brabham had forwarded his resignation prior to the election. Therefore, the House concluded that he could retain his seat.
(12) Alfred Rush was killed on May 14, 1876 in an ambush.
(13) Elected as Comptroller General of SC on March 23, 1875, resigned from the Senate on March 24, 1875.
(14) Elected to replace Thomas C. Dunn, qualified on 11/23/1875.
(15) Joseph Crews died on September 13, 1875 from gunshot wounds inflicted by an assassin.
<< 1874  

1876 >>

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved