South Carolina During the 1900s - The General Assembly

Members of the 94th General Assembly - 1961 to 1962
This 94th General Assembly convened in two regular sessions: The first session was held from January 10th to May 18th in 1961. The second session was held from January 9th to April 13th in 1962.

Election District


House of Representatives

Abbeville County

Walton Murff Stephens

James Herman Parker

Aiken County

Edward Charles Cushman, Jr.

Bennie Wade Baker

John Amasa May

Charles Earl Simons, Jr.

Allendale County 

William Edwin Myrick

Robert Evander McNair

Anderson County

John Clarence Taylor

Daniel Lyles Castles

Thomas Edward Garrison

Milford Edgar McDonald

William Lorraine Thompson

William Jackson Wright

Bamberg County

Percy Eugene Brabham

Claude Edward McCain

Barnwell County

Edgar Allen Brown**

Solomon Blatt*

Beaufort County

James Madison Waddell, Jr.

William Brantley Harvey, Jr.

Talbird Reeve Sams

Berkeley County

Rembert Coney Dennis

Henderson Guerry, Sr.

Harold Norman West

Calhoun County 

Lawrence Marion Gressette

Theodore McFadden Nelson

Charleston County

Thomas Allen Legare, Jr.

Arthur Creel Baker

Nathaniel Wilson Cabell

George Earle Campsen, Jr.

Clyde Moultrie Dangerfield

Charles MacDonald Gibson

Virginia Brockington Gourdin

Frederick Julian LeaMond

Clarence Edward Singletary (1) / George Frederick Worsham (2)

Augustine Thomas Smythe, Jr.

Robert Wilson Turner

Cherokee County

George Washington McKown

Eldon DeWitt McCraw

Wade Stackhouse Weatherford, Jr.

Chester County

Wilbur Gill Grant

Henry Rankin Gardner

Luther Clark Wright, Jr.

Chesterfield County

Paul McManus Arant

Hoover Fay Bell

Edward McIver Leppard

Clarendon County

John William Green

James McCullum Morris

Joseph Oscar Rogers, Jr.

Colleton County

Ivey Andrew Smoak, Jr.

Isadore Bogoslow

Thomas Madison Howell, Jr.

Darlington County

James Pierce Mozingo, III

Richard Lee Beasley

John Pickens Gardner

Sidney Smith Tison, Jr.

Dillon County 

Daniel Dixon Lee

Charles Guthrie Allen

Alfred William "Red" Bethea

Dorchester County

Herbert Henry Jessen

Joseph Carlisle McAlhany

Edgefield County

Frank Elbert Timmerman

Walter Hugh Clark

Fairfield County

Benjamin Franklin Hornsby

Purvis Wesley Collins

Florence County

William Clyde Graham

George Sam Harrell

Peter DeWitt Hyman

Eugene LeRoy Nettles (3)

W. Odell Venters

Eugene Noel Zeigler

Georgetown County

James Brown Morrison (4) /
Cecil Claymon Grimes, Jr. (5)

Raymond Martin Andrews

Cecil Claymon Grimes, Jr. (5)

Greenville County

Patrick Bradley Morrah, Jr.

Rex Lyle Carter

Frank Eppes (6)

Fred Archie Fuller, Jr.

Charles Gideon Garrett

Herbert Curry Granger

Samuel Herbert Hendrix

Beattie Eugene Huff

Clyde David Jenkins, Jr.

Fred N. McDonald

Belton Oswald Thomason, Jr.

Greenwood County

Francis Bates Nicholson

Guy Butler

Marion Pinckney Carnell

Hampton County

John Morrison Tuten

Clyde Alfred Eltzroth

Horry County

James Price Stevens

Earl Windell McCrackin

John Coleman Thompson

Winston Wallace Vaught

Jasper County

Henry Chester Walker, Jr.

Frank Eugene Baldwin, Jr.

Kershaw County

John Carl West

Lester Province Branham, Sr.

Donald Harry Holland

Lancaster County

Willie Bruce Wiliams

Tom Gibson Mangum

Odell Winston Player

Laurens County

King Dixon

Marshall West Abercrombie

Hubert Watson Graydon

Charles J. Hart (7) / William Camellus Dobbins, Jr. (8)

Lee County

Edward Briggs Baskin

Dan Foster Laney, Jr.

Lexington County

Francis Cyril Jones

Albert John Dooley

Ryan C. Shealy

Floyd Davidson Spence

Marion County

John Ralph Gasque

John Melvin Kirby

James Malcolm McLendon

Marlboro County

William Crosland Goldberg

Francis Marion Hinson

John Charles Lindsay

McCormick County

Lawrence Lamar Hester

William Austin Pruitt

Newberry County

Jesse Frank Hawkins

Daniel Paul Folk, II

Steve Campbell Griffith, Jr.


Marshall Joyner Parker

J. Dawson Addis

Carlton Adger Mitchell

Orangeburg County

Marshall Burns Williams

Fred Connor, Jr.

William Fletcher Fairey (9) / Jerry Miles Hughes, Jr. (10)

Francis Mitchell Ott

Foster Hall Yarborough

Pickens County

Earle Elias Morris, Jr.

Harold Delois Breazeale

John Thomas Gentry

Richland County

Walter James Bristow, Jr.

Clinch Heyward Belser

Thomas Edward Ellison (11) / Charles Evans Boineau, Jr. (12)

Martha Thomas Fitzgerald

Edmund Griffin Grant

Ernest Crosby Lewis

George Raymond McElveen

Eugene Ellison Walker

Albert William Watson

Saluda County

Frederick Grant Scurry, Jr.

Arthur David Amick

Spartanburg County

Charles Carlisle Moore

Grady Cecil Ballard

William Kyle Cox

Hugh Edsel Finch

Robert Alfred Hammett

Paul Stanley McChesney, Jr.

Paul Miller Moore

LeGrand Ariail Rouse, II

Roy McBee Smith

James Barnett Stephen

Sumter County

Henry Burchill Richardson

Robert James Aycock

Carlyle Whittier Goodman

John Dozier Lee, Jr.

Union County

John D. Long

James Morris Arthur

John Calhoun Hart

Williamsburg County

Vernal Glenn Arnette

Wallace Darlington Connor

William Frank Mishoe

York County

Robert Wesley Hayes

John Beatty Harvey

Hugh Jackson Love

Robert Lawrence McFadden

Thomas Hugh Simrill, Jr.
* Solomon Blatt was elected as Speaker of the House. Inez Watson was elected as Clerk.
** Edgar Allen Brown was elected President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Lovick Oliphant Thomas was elected as Clerk.
(1) Elected as a Judge of the 9th Judicial Circuit of SC on March 6, 1961.
(2) Elected to replace Clarence Edward Singletary, qualified on 3/1/1962.
(3) Resigned on April 13, 1962 after his appointment to the SC Highway Commission for the 12th Division.
(4) Elected as a Judge of the 15th Judicial Circuit on March 22, 1962, and resigned from the Senate at the end of the second session.
(5) Elected to replace James Brown Morrison on August 14, 1962, qualified in the Senate on 1/8/1963.
(6) Elected as a Judge of the 13th Judicial Circuit of SC on January 31, 1962 and resigned from the House on March 16, 1962.
(7) Charles J. Hart died on March 25, 1961.
(8) Elected to replace Charles J. Hart, qualified on 1/9/1962.
(9) Resigned during the summer of 1961 to devote full time to his studies as a medical student at the Medical College of South Carolina.
(10) Elected to replace William Fletcher Fairey, qualified on 1/9/1962.
(11) Resigned on May 11, 1961 after his appointement as Treasurer of Richland County by Governor Ernest F. Hollings.
(12) Elected to replace Thomas Edward Elliott, qualified on 1/9/1962.
<< 1960  

1963 >>

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved