South Carolina During the 1900s - The General Assembly

Members of the 95th General Assembly - 1963 to 1964

This 95th General Assembly convened in two regular sessions: The first session was held from January 8th to June 14th in 1963. The second session was held from January 14th to April 24th in 1964.

Aiken County, Charleston County, Greenville County, Horry County, Sumter County each gained one delegate in the House of Representatives. Richland County gained two delegates in the House of Representatives. Clarendon County, Colleton County, Florence County, Laurens County, Marlboro County, Newberry County, Spartanburg County each lost one delegate in the House of Representatives. This was due to the results of the 1960 U.S. Census.

Election District


House of Representatives

Abbeville County

Addison Brooks Carwile

William Franklin Snipes

Aiken County

Edward Charles Cushman, Jr.

Bennie Wade Baker

John Amasa May

Charles Earl Simons, Jr. (1)

Frampton Wyman Toole, Jr.

Allendale County 

Audrey Patterson Williams (2)

George Harold Kearse

Anderson County

James Byrum Lawson

Daniel Lyles Castles

Thomas Edward Garrison

Fred Thurman Moore

Elbridge Juette Wright

William Jackson Wright

Bamberg County

Percy Eugene Brabham

Robert Watson Kemp

Barnwell County

Edgar Allen Brown**

Solomon Blatt*

Beaufort County

James Madison Waddell, Jr.

James Wilton Graves

William Brantley Harvey, Jr.

Berkeley County

Rembert Coney Dennis

Henderson Guerry, Sr.

Harold Norman West

Calhoun County 

Lawrence Marion Gressette

Theodore McFadden Nelson (3) / Othniel Henry Wienges, Jr. (4)

Charleston County

Thomas Allen Legare, Jr.

Arthur Creel Baker

Nathaniel Wilson Cabell

George Earle Campsen, Jr.

Clyde Moultrie Dangerfield

Charles MacDonald Gibson

Frederick Julian LeaMond

Joseph Halstead McGee, Jr.

Robert Bowman Scarborough

Augustine Thomas Smythe, Jr.

Robert Wilson Turner

Ruth Williams

Cherokee County

George Washington McKown

Henry Levi Jolly

Wade Stackhouse Weatherford, Jr.

Chester County

Wilbur Gill Grant

Henry Rankin Gardner (5)

Luther Clark Wright, Jr.

Chesterfield County

Edward McIver Leppard

Hoover Fay Bell

Laurin Robert Redfearn

Clarendon County

James McCullum Morris

Joseph Oscar Rogers, Jr.

Colleton County

James Pershing Harrelson

Thomas Madison Howell, Jr.

Darlington County

James Pierce Mozingo, III

Richard Lee Beasley

John Pickens Gardner

Thad Elias Saleeby

Dillon County 

Roger William Scott

Alfred William "Red" Bethea

Jewell Pierce McLaurin

Dorchester County

Herbert Henry Jessen

Joseph Carlisle McAlhany

Edgefield County

Frank Elbert Timmerman

Walter Hugh Clark

Fairfield County

Benjamin Franklin Hornsby

Purvis Wesley Collins

Florence County

William Clyde Graham

David Walker Harwell

Charles Weston Houck

Peter DeWitt Hyman

W. Odell Venters

Georgetown County

Cecil Claymon Grimes, Jr.

Meyer Rosen

Julian Alexander Reynolds

Greenville County

Patrick Bradley Morrah, Jr.

Rex Lyle Carter

Harry A. Chapman, Jr.

Fred Archie Fuller, Jr.

Charles Gideon Garrett

Herbert Curry Granger

Samuel Herbert Hendrix

Beattie Eugene Huff

Clyde David Jenkins, Jr.

Fred N. McDonald

Richard Wilson Riley

Nick Andrew Theodore

Greenwood County

Francis Bates Nicholson

Guy Butler (6) / Raymond Isaiah Abbott (7)

Marion Pinckney Carnell

Hampton County

Grover Ford Bowers, Jr.

Clyde Alfred Eltzroth

Horry County

James Price Stevens

John Eugene Altman

Lloyd Berkley Bell

Earl Windell McCrackin

Winston Wallace Vaught

Jasper County

Henry Chester Walker, Jr.

Frank Eugene Baldwin, Jr.

Kershaw County

John Carl West

James Clator Arrants

Donald Harry Holland (8)

Lancaster County

Frank Lane Roddey

Tom Gibson Mangum

Garrett Judson Mobley

Laurens County

King Dixon

Marshall West Abercrombie

David Surratt Taylor

Lee County

William Green DesChamps, Jr.

Dan Foster Laney, Jr.

Lexington County

Francis Cyril Jones

Albert John Dooley

Pat Lindler

Ryan C. Shealy

Marion County

John Ralph Gasque

James Curtis Hooks

James Malcolm McLendon

Marlboro County

John Charles Lindsay

Jamie Fletcher Lee

McCormick County

Lawrence Lamar Hester

Joseph Fred Buzhardt

Newberry County

Jesse Frank Hawkins

Daniel Paul Folk, II


Marshall Joyner Parker

J. Dawson Addis (9)

Carlton Adger Mitchell

Orangeburg County

Marshall Burns Williams

Fred Connor, Jr.

Jerry Miles Hughes, Jr.

Francis Mitchell Ott

Foster Hall Yarborough

Pickens County

Earle Elias Morris, Jr.

Harold Delois Breazeale

Harris Page Smith

Richland County

Walter James Bristow, Jr.

Clinch Heyward Belser

Owens Taylor Cobb, Jr.

Edmund Griffin Grant

Ernest Crosby Lewis

Chappelle Heath Manning

Heyward Elliott McDonald

George Raymond McElveen

Stanmore Watson Talbert

 Eugene Ellison Walker

Henry Grady Yonce

Saluda County

Frederick Grant Scurry, Jr.

Rudolph Mitchell

Spartanburg County

Charles Carlisle Moore

Grady Cecil Ballard

Hugh Edsel Finch

Robert Alfred Hammett

Paul Miller Moore

Bobby Maurice Pruitt

LeGrand Ariail Rouse, II

Clary Hood Smith

James Barnett Stephen

Sumter County

Henry Burchill Richardson

Robert James Aycock

Henry Curtis Edens

Carlyle Whittier Goodman

John Dozier Lee, Jr.

Union County

John D. Long

James Morris Arthur

John Calhoun Hart

Williamsburg County

William Frank Mishoe

Wallace Darlington Connor (10) / James Earl O'Shields (11)

James Henry Stuckey

York County

Robert Wesley Hayes

John Beatty Harvey

Hugh Jackson Love

Robert Lawrence McFadden

George Beverly Petty, Jr.
* Solomon Blatt was elected as Speaker of the House. Inez Watson was elected as Clerk.
** Edgar Allen Brown was elected President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Lovick Oliphant Thomas was elected as Clerk.
(1) Resigned on May 8, 1964 when he was sworn in as a Federal District Judge for South Carolina.
(2) Election was protested by William Edwin Myrick, but the Senate voted to seat Audrey Patterson Williams.
(3) Resigned on June 15, 1953 after his appointment to the SC Industrial Commission.
(4) Elected to replace Theodore McFadden Nelson, qualified on 1/14/1964.
(5) Resigned on April 30, 1964 to accept his appointment to the SC Public Service Commission for the 3rd District.
(6) Resigned on February 27, 1963 after his election to the SC Public Service Commission for the 3rd District.
(7) Elected to replace Guy Butler, qualified on 1/14/1964.
(8) Resigned on May 1, 1964 after being elected to the SC Highway Commission for the 5th Judicial District.
(9) Resigned on April 16, 1964 after his appointment to the SC Industrial Commission.
(10) Resigned on June 13, 1953 after his appointment to the SC Highway Commission for the 3rd District.
(11) Elected to replace Wallace Darlington Connor, qualified on 1/14/1964.
<< 1962  

1965 >>

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved