The American Revolution in South Carolina

  Treaty of Dewitt's Corner

  May 20, 1777

aka Duet's Corner.

May 20, 1777 – Representatives from Georgia and South Carolina met with the Cherokee Indians to sign the Treaty of Dewitt's Corner by which South Carolina gained most of present-day Anderson, Greenville, Oconee, and Pickens counties.
Click Here to view / download a map showing the lands ceded by the Cherokees at the Treaty of Dewitt's Corner in 1777.

© 2019 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved