The Royal Colony of South Carolina

22nd Commons House of Assembly - 1757 to 1760
The Twenty-Second Commons House of Assembly under Royal Rule met on at least thirteen (13) known occasions. The first session met from October 6th to October 22nd in 1757. The second session met from November 14th to December 9th in 1757. The third session met from January 16th to February 10th in 1758. The fourth session met from February 27th to March 18th in 1758. The fifth session met from April 17th to May 19th in 1758. The sixth session met from October 23rd to October 26th in 1758. The seventh session met from November 20th to December 14th in 1758. The eighth session met from January 15th to February 16th in 1759. The ninth session met from March 5th to April 7th in 1759. The tenth session met from July 2nd to July 14th in 1759. The eleventh session met from October 4th to October 13th in 1759. The twelfth session met from February 4th to August 6th in 1760. The thirteenth session met from August 13th to August 20th in 1760.

Election District


Christ Church Parish
(2 delegates)

David Graeme

Charles Pinckney

Prince Frederick's Parish
(2 delegates)

Thomas Lynch

John Waties

Prince George's, Winyah Parish
(2 delegates)

Paul Trapier

Thomas Waties

Prince William's Parish
(2 delegates)

Stephen Bull

Thomas Middleton

St. Andrew's Parish
(3 delegates)

William Drayton

Joseph Elliott

Thomas Lamboll

St. Bartholomew's Parish
(4 delegates)

Daniel Blake

Joseph Glover

Rawlins Lowndes

James Stobo

St. George's, Dorchester Parish
(2 delegates)

Ralph Izard

Walter Izard (1) / Benjamin Waring (2)

St. Helena's Parish
(3 delegates)

John Murray

John Rattray

William Roper

St. James, Goose Creek Parish
(4 delegates)

Robert Brown (3) / Thomas Wright (3)

Charles Faucheraud

Walter Izard (1) / Benjamin Coachman (4)

Peter Taylor

St. James, Santee Parish
(2 delegates)

Daniel Horry

Robert Pringle

St. John's, Berkeley Parish
(3 delegates)

Alexander Broughton

Isaac Mazyck

William Moultrie

St. John's, Colleton Parish
(3 delegates)

John Cole (5) / William Wragg (5)

John Freer

John Lloyd (6) / Luke Stoutenburgh (6)

St. Mark's Parish
(2 delegates)

John Crawford

Joseph Poole (7) / Richard Richardson (7)

St. Paul's Parish
(3 delegates)

John McQueen

Elijah Postell

Samuel Wainwright

St. Peter's Parish
(1 delegate) 

Egerton Leigh (8) / Samuel Carne (8)

St. Philip's Parish
(5 delegates)

Daniel Crawford (9)

Christopher Gadsden

John Guerard

Henry Laurens

*Benjamin Smith

St. Stephen's Parish 
(1 delegate)

Charles Cantey

St. Thomas's & St. Dennis's Parish
(3 delegates)

Richard Beresford

Peter Manigault

John Moore
* Benjamin Smith was elected as Speaker of the House. Childermas Croft was elected as Clerk of the House. He resigned due to ill health. John Bassnett was appointed as Clerk of the House on on October 26, 1758. Jonathan Badger and Edward Weyman were elected as Messengers of the House.
(1) Walter Izard was elected to represent both St. George's, Dorchester Parish and St. James, Goose Creek Parish. He chose to represent St. George's, Dorchester Parish. Walter Izard died on on January 16, 1759.
(2) Benjamin Waring was elected to replace Walter Izard, and he qualified on 2/15/1759.
(3) Robert Brown declined to serve. Thomas Wright was elected to replace Robert Brown, and he qualified on 11/18/1757.
(4) Benjamin Coachman was elected to replace Walter Izard in St. James, Goose Creek Parish, and he qualified on 11/16/1757.
(5) John Cole died between May 19, 1758 and July 21, 1758. William Wragg was elected to replace John Cole, and he qualified on 12/5/1758.
(6) John Lloyd declined to serve. Luke Stoutenburgh was elected to replace John Lloyd, and he qualified on 11/22/1757.
(7) Joseph Poole died between October 2, 1758 and October 26, 1758. Richard Richardson was elected to replace Joseph Poole, and he qualified on 11/30/1758.
(8) Egerton Leigh was appointed to the SC Council on June 26, 1759. Samuel Carne was elected to replace Egerton Leigh, and he qualified on 4/19/1760.
(9) Daniel Crawford died on June 3, 1760. Seat remained vacant.
<< 1757  

 1760 >>

© 2014 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved