The Royal Colony of South Carolina

30th Commons House of Assembly - 1772
The Thirtieth Commons House of Assembly under Royal Rule met on at least one (1) known occasion. The singular session met from April 2nd to April 10th in 1772.

Election District


All Saints Parish
(2 delegates)

Vacant (1)

Vacant (1)

 Christ Church Parish
(2 delegates)

John Rutledge

Arnoldus Vanderhorst

Prince Frederick's Parish
(2 delegates)

Vacant (1)

Vacant (1)

Prince George's, Winyah Parish
(2 delegates)

Elias Horry, Jr.

Thomas Lynch

Prince William's Parish
(2 delegates)

Barnard Elliott (2)

Isaac MacPherson (2)

St. Andrew's Parish
(3 delegates)

Thomas Bee

William Cattell

William Scott (2)

St. Bartholomew's Parish
(4 delegates)

Rawlins Lowndes

Thomas Osborne

James Parsons

William Skirving

St. David's Parish
(1 delegate) 

Charles Augustus Stewart

St. George's, Dorchester Parish
(2 delegates)

David Oliphant (2)

Benjamin Waring

St. Helena's Parish
(3 delegates)

John Barnwell, Jr. (2)

Thomas Heyward, Jr.

Thomas Smith (3)

St. James, Goose Creek Parish
(3 delegates)

John Parker

Benjamin Smith

Thomas Smith (3)

St. James, Santee Parish
(2 delegates)

Paul Douxsaint

Thomas Horry

St. John's, Berkeley Parish
(3 delegates)

Isaac Motte

William Moultrie

Daniel Ravenel, Jr.

St. John's, Colleton Parish
(3 delegates)

William Gibbes

John Mathews (son of Jon)

Charles Cotesworth Pinckney

St. Luke's Parish
(2 delegates)

Vacant (1)

Vacant (1)

St. Mark's Parish
(1 delegate)

Joseph Kershaw (2)

St. Matthew's Parish
(1 delegate)

Isaac Huger (2)

St. Michael's Parish
(3 delegates)

Miles Brewton

Thomas Loughton Smith

John Ward

St. Paul's Parish
(3 delegates)

Benjamin Elliott

Thomas Ferguson

George Haig

St. Peter's Parish
(1 delegate) 

William Williamson (4)

St. Philip's Parish
(3 delegates)

Christopher Gadsden

Henry Laurens (2)

Charles Pinckney

St. Stephen's Parish
(1 delegate) 

Tacitus Gailard (2)

St. Thomas's & St. Dennis's Parish
(3 delegates)

*Peter Manigault

Robert Quash, Jr. (2)

John Wigfall
* Peter Manigault was elected as Speaker of the House. Thomas Skottowe was elected as Clerk of the House. No Messengers were elected for this brief Assembly.
(1) No returns were received from All Saints Parish, Prince Frederick Parish, and St. Luke's Parish before this Assembly was dissolved.
(2) John Barnwell, Barnard Elliott, Tacitus Gaillard, Isaac Huger, Joseph Kershaw, Henry Laurens, Isaac MacPherson, David Oliphant, Robert Quash, Jr., and William Scott were elected in the general election, but they never qualified.
(3) Thomas Smith was elected to represent both St. Helena's Parish and St. James, Goose Creek Parish. He chose to represent St. James, Goose Creek Parish. Assume the seat in St. Helena's Parish remained vacant.
(4) William Williamson declined to serve. Seat remained vacant.
<< 1771  

1773 >>

© 2014 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved