The Royal Colony of South Carolina

32nd Commons House of Assembly - 1773
The Thirty-Second Commons House of Assembly under Royal Rule met on at least one (1) known occasion. The singular session met from January 1st to January 9th in 1773.

Election District


All Saints Parish
(2 delegates)

Vacant (1)

Vacant (1)

 Christ Church Parish
(2 delegates)

John Rutledge

Arnoldus Vanderhorst (2)

Prince Frederick's Parish
(2 delegates)

Benjamin Farrar (2)

Theodore Gaillard, Jr.

Prince George's, Winyah Parish
(2 delegates)

Elias Horry, Jr.

Thomas Lynch

Prince William's Parish
(2 delegates)

Godin Guerard (2)

Isaac Motte

St. Andrew's Parish
(3 delegates)

Thomas Bee

William Cattell

William Scott

St. Bartholomew's Parish
(4 delegates)

*Rawlins Lowndes

Thomas Osborne (2)

James Parsons (2)

William Skirving (2)

St. David's Parish
(1 delegate) 

George Gabriel Powell (2)

St. George's, Dorchester Parish
(2 delegates)

David Oliphant

Benjamin Waring

St. Helena's Parish
(3 delegates)

Thomas Heyward, Jr.

Roger Smith (3)

Thomas Loughton Smith (4)

St. James, Goose Creek Parish
(3 delegates)

Benjamin Coachman (2)

Benjamin Singleton (2)

John Wright (2)

St. James, Santee Parish
(2 delegates)

Paul Douxsaint (2)

Thomas Horry

St. John's, Berkeley Parish
(3 delegates)

James Cordes, Jr.

Edward Harleston (2)

William Moultrie

St. John's, Colleton Parish
(3 delegates)

William Gibbes

Thomas Ladson (2)

Charles Cotesworth Pinckney

St. Luke's Parish
(2 delegates)

Vacant (1)

Vacant (1)

St. Mark's Parish
(1 delegate)

William Richardson (2)

St. Matthew's Parish
(1 delegate)

Tacitus Gaillard (2)

St. Michael's Parish
(3 delegates)

Miles Brewton

John Edwards (2)

Thomas Loughton Smith (4)

St. Paul's Parish
(3 delegates)

Benjamin Elliott (2)

Thomas Ferguson

George Haig

St. Peter's Parish
(1 delegate) 

Henry Laurens (2)

St. Philip's Parish
(3 delegates)

Christopher Gadsden

Charles Pinckney

Roger Smith (3)

St. Stephen's Parish
(1 delegate) 

John Gaillard (5) / Isaac Porcher (5)

St. Thomas's & St. Dennis's Parish
(3 delegates)

James Akin

Peter Manigault (2)

John Wigfall
* Rawlins Lowndes was elected as Speaker of the House. Thomas Skottowe was elected as Clerk of the House. No Messengers of the House were elected in this brief Assembly
(1) No returns were received from All Saints Parish or St. Luke's Parish before this Assembly was dissolved.
(2) Arnoldus Vanderhorst, Benjamin Coachman, Paul Douxsaint, John Edwards, Benjamin Elliott, Benjamin Farrar, Tacitus Gaillard, Godin Guerard, Edward Harleston, Thomas Ladson, Henry Laurens, Peter Manigault, Thomas Osborne, James Parsons, George Gabriel Powell, William Richardson, Benjamin Singleton, William Skirving, and John Wright were elected in the general election, but they never qualified before this Assembly was dissolved.
(3) Roger Smith was elected to represent both St. Helena's Parish and St. Philip's Parish, but he never declared which parish he would represent.
(4) Thomas Loughton Smith was elected to represent both St. Helena's Parish and St. Michael's Parish, but he never declared which parish he would represent.
(5) John Gaillard and Isaac Porcher received equal votes in the general election. Since this Assembly was dissolved soon after it convened, it is assumed that this seat remained vacant.
<< 1772  

 1773 >>

© 2014 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved