South Carolina Railroads - South Carolina Pacific Railway


Year Chartered or Incorporated

Year Line Operational

Year Service Ended

Original Starting Point

Original Ending Point





Bennettsville, SC

Parkton, NC
+ 1983 - Merged into the Seaboard Coast Line System and this railroad was dissolved. 
* 1892 - Leased by the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad. Lease renewed in 1914 for 99 years, beginning on January 1, 1915.
1884 - Leased to the Cape Fear & Yadkin Valley Railway (a North Carolina company).

One source asserts that this railroad was the precursor to the section of the Fayetteville Cutoff in South Carolina. However, the towns identified do not match up.

The original charter asserted that this railroad was to start at the SC/NC State Line and proceed to the SC/GA State Line in what was then Edgefield County. Only a very short portion of this line was ever built, as described below.

Towns on Route (in SC):

SC/NC State Line

McLaurins Mills > McColl (1884)

Hamer (1885) > Tatum Station (1886) > Tatum (1907)


Added in 1890s:


Robins Neck

Mont Clare


© 2018 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved