Orangeburgh District, South Carolina


Years in Existence

1st District Seat

2nd District Seat

1768 - 1800



Click Here - To see how the Orangeburg District evolved 1768 to 1800 - includes all the known towns and villages.

A History of the Orangeburgh District

In 1768, South Carolina eliminated all of the original counties and established seven new "Districts," with governmental seats in each district. From 1768 to 1785, these districts remained intact, however, the district seats did change some during that time-frame. After the American Revolution in 1785, South Carolina re-established the concept of counties and thirty-four (34) "new" counties were defined and established. Each of these new counties were "subsets" of, and subordinate to, the "overarching Districts" that had been in existence since 1768. Some of the newly-defined counties were abolished between 1785 and 1800, whereas other newly-defined counties were created during that period.

In 1800, South Carolina abolished all "overarching Districts" and essentially went with the county concept from that year forward. However, in 1800, all counties were now called "districts" and would continue being called districts until after the US Civil War. In 1868, South Carolina reverted back to the term "county" and this term has been used continuously since then.

The boundaries of the original Orangeburgh District remained the same from inception in 1768 to its elimination in 1800. At the end of the American Revoloution in 1783, Orangeburgh dropped the "h," and has since been identified as Orangeburg. In 1785, four newly-defined counties were created wholly within the existing Orangeburg District - Lewisburg, Lexington, Orange, and Winton - but, the overarching Orangeburg District remained intact. In 1791, all four of these newly-defined counties were abolished, but again, the overarching Orangeburg District remained intact until its abolition in 1800.

The first United States Census was taken in 1790 and each of the original seven Districts were enumerated within that census. By the 1800 US Census, all of the original seven Districts had been abolished and new counties (called districts at that time) were enumerated separately in that census. However, in 1800, what once was the Orangeburg District now had become only two new counties - Orangeburg County (district until 1868) and Barnwell County (district until 1868) - therefore, to compare population changes from 1790 to 1800 would not be too difficult.


© 2007 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved